Sixteen of the seventeen schools selected to participate in the pilot of face-to-face teaching began classes today, Tuesday, November 10. Yallahs High School has asked to begin tomorrow because of flooding on the school grounds. The originally scheduled start for the pilot was delayed yesterday because of inclement weather across the island.


Assessments and feedback from the schools indicate that the physical plants are ready for classes and arrangements are in place to help students, teachers and other staff to observe the public health protocols mandated by the Ministry of Health and Wellness to mitigate possible spread of the Covid-19 virus.


The 17 selected schools are:

1.      Yallahs High School, St. Thomas

2.      Steer Town Primary and Junior High School, St. Ann

3.      Somerton All-Age and Infant School, St. James

4.      Newcombe Valley Primary School, St. Elizabeth

5.      Morgan’s Forest Primary and Infant, Clarendon

6.      Mile Gully Primary School, Manchester

7.      Kemps Hill High School, Clarendon

8.      Garlogie Primary and Junior High, Clarendon

9.      Chatsworth Primary and Infant School, St. James

10.    Chantilly Primary School, Westmoreland

11.    Bethlehem All Age and Infant School, St. Elizabeth

12.    Ballards Valley Primary School, St. Elizabeth

13.    Alston High School, Clarendon

14.    Moore Town Primary & Junior High School, Portland

15.    Chalky Hill All Age, St. Ann

16.    Devon Primary, Manchester

17.    Moneague Primary and Junior High, St. Ann