Latest News

Permanent Secretary Welcomes Turks and Caicos Islands Educators

Turks CaicosECPic

Dr Maurice Smith, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information on Monday (May 2) welcomed a delegation of educators and officials from the Turks and Caicos Islands at his National Heroes Circle office in Kingston. The delegation, which is being hosted by the Early Childhood Commission (ECC), is on a fact-finding tour of Jamaica’s early childhood sector. 

They will visit early childhood institutions and institutions that train teachers for the sector. The Turks and Caicos Islands’ representatives from the immediate left of Dr Smith to the extreme right are Juliet Thelwell, Kerry Ann Mason (back row), Heidy Williams, Monique Lightbourne and Candice Malcolm. From the extreme left are Michelle Campbell, ECC director; Dr Clover Hamilton-Flowers, assistant chief education officer and Dr Lorna Thompson, education officer in the Ministry’s Core Curriculum Unit; and Dr Joan Reid, Executive Director of the ECC.