Latest News

Education Ministry Honours Former Employees

Seven former educators and administrative staff members were honoured during an intimate, mid-afternoon appreciation function held on Monday, May 9, 2016 at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.  The distinguished honorees were Patricia Bryan Britton, Hilary Dawn Foster, Sharon Neil, Amina Blackwood Meeks, Yvonne Clarke Campbell, Sonia Mullings, and Icema Reid. 

These former employees were applauded for the sterling contribution and unwavering service over the last four decades to the education sector and in various capacities within the Ministry of Education, Youth and Information, ranging from Regional Director to Administrative Assistant.

Dr. Maurice Smith, Permanent Secretary, showered accolades on the former employees and thanked them profusely for their invaluable contribution to the education sector and in particular, the children of Jamaica. 

Dr. Grace McLean, Chief Education Officer concurred with Dr. Smith and added that she was pleased to have had the opportunity to work alongside all the retirees and assured them that their input and support over the years have been  priceless.

The retirees were provided with framed citations, highlighting their work achievements throughout the years, and several other tokens of appreciation.